What can you make with a polo shirt?

Standard

This is my third “What Can You Make With A . . .?” blog post, so maybe I’ve inadvertently started a new series! 🙂 The first remake was a flannel shirt and the second was a lace tank. This time, my sweet husband Dave donated an old polo shirt that he no longer loves, and as usual, I went a little crazy with it! I’ve already blogged about the scrabble tile pillows, which required four 8-inch squares from the front and back. Here’s what I did with the rest of the shirt:

(1) The sleeves are now fabric bins for my embroidery floss. After cutting them off the shirt, I simply evened up the sides and bottom, stitched, and made triangle corners at the bottom so they will stand up. (If you’re not sure how to do these corners, you can read about them on this tote or bracelet purse tutorial.) I previously had my floss in a large, pretty bowl, but I’ve been wanting to use the bowl elsewhere so this worked out perfectly!

(2) The ribbed collar and top-stitched hem are now a scissors pocket necklace to wear when I’m sewing or crafting, since I move from the sewing room to the dining table to the kitchen island and my scissors are always in the wrong place. (Does anyone else do that???) First, I cut the collar into thirds and used the parts with the finished ends for the bag and the other part for a flower. Then I used red buttons for the flower center and to attach the shirt-hem strap on both sides of the stitched-and-turned bag. I love it!

(3) Two random remnants are now a coffee cup cozy to take when I meet my friends for coffee or lunch. I used the cafe’s cardboard version as a pattern, cutting the fabric big enough to allow for seams, padded it with some soft quilt batting, and sewed in a red hairband at one end. After turning and pressing, I top-stitched in red and added a vintage red button. I can’t wait to try it out!

(4) One more random remnant became this pyramid bag I’ve been wanting to try from Craftser. The tutorial says it takes fifteen minutes. It does, and it’s super-cute, too!

Someday I’ll embroider over the frayed spots on the placket and pocket and reuse them along with the other small scraps I have left. When I do, I’ll be sure to share. ♥

58 responses »

  1. Wow…that’s a lot of sewing!! I love everything you’ve made…I think I should make myself some embroidery floss bins too…
    I’ve been wanting to make the pyramid bag from Craftster for ages too…but sewing zippers scares me 🙂

  2. Fabulous again…..I love the way you store your floss on pegs – I’ve never seen this – very very clever. And the pyramid bags – I can say I’ll be making those. Fabulous. Thanks for sharing again.

  3. I’ve been wanting to make one of those pyramid bags. Yours turned out so cute! I love that you repurposed the polo shirt. The sissor pouch is a great idea! I am always looking for mine!! Thanks for a great post and great ideas!!

  4. Pingback: One Year Award and Giveaway! « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  5. Pingback: Good Neighbor Award | A Ponytail Kind of Day

  6. Pingback: What can you make with a sundress? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  7. Pingback: Crafty Corner « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  8. Pingback: What can you make with an embroidered jacket? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  9. Pingback: Pin-Up Menu Board | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?