Christmas Mini-Pillow Ornaments

Standard

Since I finished my fall wreath, my new “kitchen project”–as in leaving the materials out on the kitchen island to work on in spare moments–is to make enough mini-pillow ornaments to decorate a small Christmas tree. I started on these last fall but only ended up finishing five. First, I cut all my Christmas remnants into 4-inch squares to mix and match for fronts and backs. I always add a bit of embroidery a-la-mode to the front, along with buttons or jingle bells here and there. Then I stitch and stuff just as I would a regular pillow but add a ribbon for hanging before sewing. I love how festive they look, and they make a great road-trip project, too. I’ll post my decorated tree when they’re all done! ♥

60 responses »

  1. I love those and have lots of Christmas fabric in storage to use. Soft ornaments are especially good when you have small children around the tree or pets. I always had the soft ornaments on the lower shelves so the little ones could touch or the animals could sit under without fear of being hurt. I’ll try a few when I get moved in and my sewing room set up again. They make me smile and inspire me. Thank you.

    • You’re very welcome! And that’s a great point about small children and pets! It would be fun to use these for a little tree in a child’s playroom so he/she could decorate, undecorate, and redecorate it every day! 🙂 I’ll look forward to seeing your ornaments when you get time to try some! 🙂

  2. Ohhhhh! They are just so cute. One great idea to use up scraps. Got to add them to my to do list. Goshhh! My list is getting bigger and bigger. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mission Possible

  4. This is exactly what I needed to see. I picked up a bunch of scrap Xmas fabric last year. I’ve been planning to make some into reusable gift tags, but this ornament idea is great too!

  5. Pingback: free beaded christmas ornament patterns, beaded wire star, Star of Bethlehem beaded wire ornament, beaded ornament covers, beaded Christmas ornaments | Guide To Beadwork Blog

  6. Pingback: What can you make with a sundress? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  7. Pingback: Crafty Corner « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  8. Pingback: Mini-Pillow Ornaments « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  9. Pingback: Hostess Gifts: DIY, Non-Edible Holiday Themed « Green Door Hospitality

  10. Pingback: pillows: how many are too many? | Curls n Skirls

What do you think?