Christmas Argyle Pillow

Standard

Here is a photo of my new favorite pillow that I finished last night! It just sort of evolved . . . here’s how.

(1) When I recently organized my crafty corner, these two fabrics ended up side by side on a shelf and made me think of Christmas. The red cotton is from a thrifted tablecloth, and the lime green felt is from the citrus coasters I made last summer. Then I saw an argyle sweater in an ad, and a lightbulb went on!

(2) I used a shape pattern from Google images to cut these diamonds from the felt. Then I pinned them in rows and pondered how to attach them. I decided that having the corners loose would give the pillow a more interesting texture, so I embroidered an “X” across the middle of each diamond . . . sort of a “free-form argyle.” ๐Ÿ™‚

(3) When I stitched the pillow front and back together (the back is another piece of the red tablecloth, unadorned), I stitched through the middle of each outer diamond, which gave the edges a sort of rick-rack pattern. Finally, I stuffed the pillow and hand-stitched the opening. I may never make another one, but it sure makes me smile! โ™ฅ

53 responses »

  1. “I may never make another one, but it sure makes me smile!” This comment sounds SO MUCH like me! LOL I certainly identify with the comment but the pillow is adorable!

  2. Pingback: Peppermint Mini-Skirt « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  3. “…and a lightbulb went on.”

    Your lightbulbs aren’t always on in that amazing head of yours?

    Oh wait, maybe you meant *another* lightbulb went on.

    Yes, that must be it. ::grin::

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas! | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?