What can you make with a flannel shirt?

Standard

This was a perfectly nice flannel shirt . . . soft fabric, pretty colors. But it didn’t fit quite right, and I didn’t like the roll-tab sleeves, and even with the ribbon belt that came with it I felt more lumberjack than feminine when I wore it. So, rather than sticking it in the back of my closet, I took my scissors to it!

Vest: Remove the collar, button and buttonhole plackets, pockets, and sleeves. Roll under the raw edges (using lace seam binding for the armholes to help with the curve) and topstitch. Sew pretty buttons into the buttonholes on the pocket flaps. Cut the ribbon belt in half and stitch the pieces to the top fronts of the vest for a tie . . . great with a white T-shirt and button necklace!

Placket Pillow: Stitch the button placket to one piece of coordinating fabric and the buttonhole placket to another. Button the two pieces together to form the pillow front. Cut a piece from one of the shirt sleeves for the back. Sew right sides together, turn, and stuff.

Pocket Pillow: Sew the tabs from the sleeves to a piece of coordinating fabric, then stitch the pockets under them so that the buttonholes on the tabs fasten to the buttons on the pockets. Fold right sides together, sew, turn, and stuff.

Fabric Flower: Cut out seven circles from the sleeves and form them into a flower. Add a pretty button in the middle  and a pin on the back.

Fabric Gift Bag: Gather the bottom of the collar and wrap it into a flower shape. Add buttons in the middle for a-la-mode. Then stitch up a simple bag with a handle from the shirt sleeve fabric and sew the flower on the front.

Mini Origami Lotus Bag: Add a square of coordinating fabric to a square of sleeve fabric plus a complementary color of  craft string for pull cords . . . just like the larger version, but a perfect size for a tiny gift or piece of jewelry. ♥

67 responses »

  1. Pingback: What can you make with a flannel shirt? | simplycreativeboutique

  2. OMG! I love the Cushions. Ok I am a bit bias as far as cushions go but still I love Love love them the best. And I do like the Vest….and of cause there had to be at least one Origami Bag!!!!

    • Thank you! First I was only going for the vest . . . then it became a sort of contest with myself to see what else I could come up with. 🙂 Now I’m doing the same thing with a lace tank top . . . post to come! 🙂

  3. So clever. I cant believe how much you have made from one shirt. Inspiring! Have a great weekend.
    Regards Florence x

  4. How fun!!! Looking at the finished pieces, I never would have guessed they started as a flannel shirt. Thanks for sharing such great ideas!!!

    Blessings,
    Alyson

  5. Perfect! I have old clothes I’m hanging on to just for the fabric. And I have to babysit my niece who likes to craft with me! Ps. It’s Aunts Day on Sunday, so I’ll be sure to mention your blog when I write about the craftiness we accomplished! Thanks again!

  6. Again, some great ideas! My brother was just about to throw out a bag full of checked shirts, almost new. Of course I rescued them, thrifted them for any nice buttons, but now can’t make my mind up what to do with the fabric! I like your ideas – do you have anymore? xXx

    • I always start with a pillow since that needs a bigger chunk of the fabric, and it’s fun if you can add some of the structural details from the shirt to the pillow, too. Then I look at all the parts I have left and go from there. 🙂 If the shirts have cuffs, you could make coffee cup cozies with those! Stuffed toys would be SUPER cute with shirt fabric, too! Have fun! 🙂

  7. Pingback: What can you make with a polo shirt? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  8. Pingback: One Year Award and Giveaway! « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  9. WOW! YOU ARE SO CREATIVE 🙂 I have been reading your posts, and So far love love love your ideas & projects, Thank you for sharing..I will choose a couple of ideas and give them a try then post on my blog, this weekend.. ok? I will give you credit of course..xoxo
    crystabel

  10. Pingback: Good Neighbor Award | A Ponytail Kind of Day

  11. Pingback: What can you make with a sundress? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?