Shocker Apron

Standard

No, it’s not the Halloween kind of shocker . . . it’s the Wichita State University Shockers (as in a shock of wheat . . . click here to see our mascot, Wu Shock!). I had some fabric left over from the WSU apron I made for the fundraiser silent auction, so I made a half apron for one of my friends who is a huge fan and follower of WSU’s volleyball and basketball teams. The “Shockers” logo on the pocket is snipped from the same t-shirt that I used to get the Wu Shock for the bib of the original apron. The tutorial is from this post on Jona Giammalva’s amazingingly inspirational blog Stop Staring & Start Sewing, and the black/yellow fabrics are from my bloggy friend Laura’s LC’s Cottage Etsy shop. Here is the finished apron blowing in the Kansas wind! β™₯

Apron

42 responses »

    • I’m glad you like it, Laura! And this color combination was the inspiration for ALL the team aprons I’ve made, starting with WSU and then branching out to other colleges . . . so thank YOU! πŸ™‚

  1. It looks great. I love reading about things like WuShock the mascot and parts of your amazing country I wouldn’t have heard of otherwise. (instead of working). Today you have inspired me again! I need a new apron! Hmmmm.I can see the possibilities would be endless. I rather like your superhero ones and I am thinking it would give my tribe a giggle if I went BATMAN. I shall keep you posted!
    I need one that could be wiped down cos I am messy. Any suggestions re fabric? πŸ™‚

    • A Batman apron would be so much fun! I’ve been using lots of regular cotton or cotton blend quilting-type fabrics (preshunk) because I have them on hand, but something a little heavier would probably be good for actual “messy coverage” . . . maybe some of the lighter-weight upholstery fabrics or canvas or something like that?

      • Thanks Katherine, you have given me a Very Good Idea! A PVC plain apron with batman material cut out and glued on. It wont be for a while but I wont one!! I have just started experimenting with glues for my sons cosplays. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: One-Hour Apron | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  3. Pingback: Aprons for Auction | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?