Our Family Art Project

Standard

Painting

When our family was all together in June, we created an art project that Dave and I will cherish forever! When I say “we,” I admit that all I did was pin the original idea (click here . . . it’s REALLY cute!) on Pinterest and send it to our seven amazing daughters-in-law. They took it from there! Shannon is our mixed media artist, so she prepared the canvas. Then she wrote a tutorial! (See links below.) When everyone arrived, Jen took charge of the grandchildren handprints. Being a kindergarten teacher and mother of toddlers, she’s a pro! Tiffany, Mary Ann, Vickie, Danielle, and Christin all helped with the painting, holding, and cleaning up of little hands. Our work of art is now hanging over our staircase so it will be the first thing guests see when they enter our home. HAPPY SIGH . . .

SHANNON’S TUTORIAL:

Click Mixed Media Canvas for a word document.

Click Mixed Media Canvas for a pdf.

Names

73 responses »

  1. Q – Love this! Especially love the handprints. Will have to do that next time we’re lucky enough to have all of our grandkids “home”.

  2. This is absolutely delightful. I’m grinning ear to ear. Not only is it a beautiful piece of art, but one personalized with those tiny little hands. To be honest, I didn’t even realize they were hands till I read further. They’ve incorporated so nicely into the whole.

    I’ve no doubt you’ll cherish this always. Lovely.

  3. A lovely and timely post for me. Well done on a beautiful project. I am off to Barwon Heads tomorow and your post reminded me to put together a little creative “something” for us to enjoy together!
    I think it is time to make our baby sock monkeys. “You are my sunshine” is my favorite song and this year my son played it on his saxophone for me for Mothers Day. “Why are you crying if you are happy Mummy?” 🙂

  4. How lovely! It is very special to have a special piece inspired, and created, by family. I’ll be following along to see what you are up to (love pillows!) and invite you to check out my blog of kids projects, if you have the time and interest. http://kartwheels.org/
    Take good care!
    Karen

What do you think?