“Notepaper” Coasters

Standard

I’ve loved notebooks ever since I was a little girl . . . maybe that’s why I decided to be an elementary teacher and writer when I grew up! Anyway, awhile back I started on a B-I-G embroidery project (post to come!) and I wanted it to be on fabric that looks like notebook paper. I found a lightweight knit in white with black stripes . . . perfect! The other day I noticed the remnants and decided I should turn them into something, too. So I cut them into twelve squares, embroidered a red stripe on half of them (my other road trip embroidery project), stitched them right sides together with a square of quilt batting added to the stack, trimmed, turned, top-stitched, and had a set of six cute coasters in no time at all. I think they’ll make a perfect gift for a teacher or writer . . . and I know lots of those! β™₯

37 responses »

    • Yes, I added a layer of quilt batting, and they seem to be just the right thickness and absorbability now. (Is that a word???) πŸ™‚ And I have one more little piece of the fabric so I’m sure I’ll find an inspiration for it soon! πŸ™‚

    • Aww . . . thank you! And you’ll have SO much fun with your sewing machine! I still use the one I got in high school . . . it’s very basic, but it works just fine for the simple projects I make. Enjoy!!! πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Embroidered Classroom Poster « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  2. I think these are so cute. I am going to show them to my teachers at work. Do you do special orders and how much would you you sell them for.

    • Thank you for the lovely compliment! Actually, I just make things for our home and for gifts. I really admire everyone who has a sewing/crafting business, but I guess I’m in it for the fun. πŸ™‚

What do you think?