Button Necklace

Standard

Since my “lost earring necklace” worked out, I got brave enough to try one of the cute button necklaces I’ve been seeing everywhere! I decided to go with black buttons, so first I went through my stash and put these in a pile. Next, I made a new pile with the ones that were ½ to ¾ inches in diameter. Finally, I sorted out the ones that had the most interesting designs, and I was ready to go.

Here’s the tutorial for my version of this fun craft:

  • Cut three strands of cord 48 inches long. I used hemp cord from Michaels, where I also purchased a package of bracelet closures and crimp beads.
  • Thread the strands through a bracelet bar closure and pull it to the middle. (Click on the red collage for a larger view.) Clamp the cords 4 inches from the bar closure. This is where you will start adding buttons.
  • Separate the first of the six strands of cording. Slide on the first button and tie it at the back with a simple slip knot. Keep adding buttons, evenly spaced, until you get to within five inches of the end. Repeat with the other five strands.
  • Stretch the strands back out and knot the ends. Then add a crimp bead at each end and attach these to the circle closure.
  • You’re done . . . enjoy!  Oh, and please check out this adorable button necklace (with earrings!) at The Bead Den. I discovered it right after I made mine, and I LOVE it! ♥

36 responses »

  1. Too cute – and I bet they make a great sound! Makes me want a button charm bracelet!

  2. Try threading the buttons on jewellery elastic. The buttons space themselves and you then just stretch it over your head or twist a couple of times for a chunky bracelet.

    • I LOVE that idea! I’m not too good with the little jewelry fasteners, so I was thinking of just making the next one long enough to slip over the head and tying it at the back, but I like your plan better. Thank you! 🙂

  3. I’ve been wanting to try this technique too. After a friend came back from vacation in SC with a pearlized button necklace. Very good!

    • Thank you! Others have suggested using elastic thread to avoid having to put on the closure . . . I might try that next time! Have fun with yours and I hope to see it on your blog! 🙂

  4. Absolutely beautiful! and well made too 🙂 don’t worry for your laces, they are packed and ready to go, but I think I’ll do the mailing next week as these days are hectic!

  5. What a wonderful idea – thank you so much for sharing!

    Years ago there was a button crazy in my area, and I made a few bracelets using the elastic method. I’ve still got leftover buttons, and have been wondering what to do with them… now I know!

    A special thank you for being the first visitor over at CurlsnSkirls!

  6. Pingback: What can you make with a flannel shirt? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  7. Pingback: repurposing a button stash « Curls n Skirls

  8. Pingback: Lace Bracelet « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?