A New Way to Think About a New Day . . .

Standard

Last fall I lit up when I read “Short Monday Poem” by Ellen Grace Olinger on Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin:

Monday
and planning
the week
what will grow
what should rest

What a lovely way to frame a new week . . . or month . . . or year . . . or even a day. Now when I make a to-do list, I find myself prayerfully asking, “What needs to grow? What needs to rest?” I even made a chart to share with my writing group. We can put our writing or personal goals at the top (Find more time to write? Feel more energized? Learn to ______?) and then list what needs to grow and rest in order to accomplish the goal. Thank you so much for inspiring me, Ellen!  P.S. My blog is on my “rest” list for a bit while I finish three big projects for work. I’ll be back for Valentine’s Day! ♥

Calendar

21 responses »

  1. Pingback: Thank you note to PILLOWS A-LA-MODE | Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin

  2. What a wonderful way to put it. I’m growing so old things and putting others, including my blog on the rest list. I’m resting too. For some reason, it takes through January to catch my breath and start fresh.

What do you think?