Superheroes in Tutus

Standard

Ally and Kira found some adorable “superhero in tutu” photos while checking out Halloween costume ideas on Pinterest, and of course I said, “Let’s make some!” The girls decided on Batman and Robin, so first we poured over illustrations of the real characters to figure out our colors and designs. For our versions, their mom first bought appropriately-colored tank tops. I found logos on Bing Images, which I traced onto fabric, cut out, and appliqued onto the fronts of the tanks. Next, I made short capes (so they won’t get in the way of the tutus), ruffled them at the tops, and attached them from shoulder to shoulder along the backs of the tanks. Then I studied dozens of cut-and-tie and sewn tutu tutorials (tutututorials???), and I decided on this this lovely version from Rachael Rabbit. Now all the girls will have to do is add simple black masks, tights, and boots . . . plus long-sleeved t-shirts for warmth (black for Batman and green for Robin, which their mom has ready to go). Here are the finished pieces . . . I can’t wait to see them on my little superheroes! β™₯

BatmanRobin

86 responses »

    • Billowing is right . . . I literally laughed out loud when I saw how full they turned out! The girls may not be able to stand too close together in their photos! πŸ™‚ But I’ll be sure to get some!

    • We have all sons (which I love . . . made me feel like queen of the castle!) πŸ™‚ But it sure is fun having some girls in the family now . . . and extra fun when I get to sew for them, of course! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Catja! I always wanted to be a ballet dancer . . . but I have more of a basketball player body, so no tutus for me! πŸ™‚ But now that I know how to make them . . . hmmm . . . πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Danielle! And just say the word when Katy is ready for hers . . . although I’ll probably use half that amount of netting or you won’t be able to get close enough to her to hold her hand while she’s trick-or-treating! πŸ™‚ xoxoxo

  1. How fun!!!! I love these – thanks for sharing a wonderful idea and how you and the girls put yours together. πŸ™‚ I hope y’all have a wonderful weekend.

    • I agree . . . I just love the cute tutus in that tutorial! My sister and I played dress up all the time. Our favorite was designing wedding dresses by draping Mom’s no-longer-used sheer curtains around us! πŸ™‚

  2. Adorable! Why shouldn’t girls be any superhero they want to be? I might have to make one of these for my next costume party!

  3. Pingback: Superheroes in Tutus for Real! | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?

