Mint Tin Sewing Kit

Standard

What’s that peeking out of my purse? My new on-the-go sewing kit! Recently a friend at church approached me (rather sheepishly) and said, “I heard you like to sew. I have this hole in my jacket pocket . . . ” Luckily I had one of those little hotel-freebie sewing kits in my bag, so we got him fixed up in no time. Then I ended up sewing on a button for someone on another outing, so I decided I’d be a bit more stylish for the next “emergency.”

(1) Find an empty mint tin.

(2) Do a rubbing on the top to make a template of the design.

(3) Use the template to cut out a piece of scrapbook paper or fabric, and then add a little a-la-mode. (I embroidered the outline of a first aid symbol in peach floss on scrapbook paper.)

(4) Glue on your new top, and fill the tin. Mine holds two of the freebies (which include needles, different colors of thread, a threader, safety pins, and extra buttons) and a pair of clippers to cut the thread (since I don’t have any scissors that small). Oh, and then I put in my little eyeglass-repair screwdriver and two band-aids. Did I forget anything???

If you’ve blogged about a repurposed mint tin, please send me a link in a comment and I’ll add it to this post. I have more tins waiting, so I welcome all your creative ideas! ♥

UPDATES: Josée at Cul de Sac sent this link to a “Wee Mouse Tin House” Etsy pattern . . . it’s so adorable!

37 responses »

    • I can’t think of anything at the moment, but I’m going to start collecting ideas, so I’ll keep you posted! 🙂 And thank you for the compliment on the purse! One of my daughters-in-law gives me one for my birthday every year, and this is one of my favorites! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Mint Tin Tic-Tac-Toe « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

    • I teach a “mending is better than ending” course in Melbourne Australia.. I thought I knew everything about sewing kits but never thought of this. Great gift ideas for me too. May I use your idea in my next lot of classes? I will give full credit as to where I saw the idea as I always do. : ) Please check out my “emergency sewing kit” blog post if you get time. I think you will like it as it links literature with sewing as do you.

      • Certainly! And I can’t tell you HOW many times I’ve used it already! It’s fun to say, “Oh, I can fix that for you!” 🙂 And I’d LOVE to read your post . . . will you send me a link?

        • Please go on to my site gentlestitches.com and type huck finn in to the search bar.
          This will bring up the short “emergency sewing kit” post.

          This is the best way to get the link to you.

What do you think?

