Writers and Writing

Standard

Everyone has a different reason for creating a blog. My inspiration was my new Wednesday night writer’s group. Some of our members are looking for a way to collect their poems, memoirs, and essays, so I decided to learn how to blog so I could help others create them. I chose pillows for the theme because that happened to be my new hobby, but I’ve found my blog to be a fun forum for chronicling all sorts of ideas and events . . . and reading other writers’ blogs to be rather addictive!!! For our last writer’s group meeting of the year, I compiled a list of prompts we can use to sum up our writing lives and set new goals . . . feel free to try one and share! ♥

Paper Art by Matthew Sporzynski

  • Write a haiku or other type of poem about 2011.
  • Write a 10-word sentence about yourself as a writer.
  • Write a story or poem from your computer’s point of view. How would it describe your work habits? What does it think about you as a writer? (I’m thinking of doing this one . . . but it would include eating at my desk, getting distracted by Pinterest, and staring at my husband as if I don’t know him if he happens to walk into the room when I’m on a roll with an idea . . . uhm . . . maybe I won’t. :))
  • Write an apology letter to yourself for not taking a chance you wish you would have, and explain what you will do about it.
  • Write a one-paragraph bio about your writing career to date. Then, write the one-paragraph bio you hope to have on 1-1-13.
  • Write a letter to yourself that you will open in six months. Include your current accomplishments and concerns, and remind yourself of one thing from today that you want to make sure “future you” does not forget.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you! I hope your writing group enjoys the prompts. I did go ahead and write “A Day In The Life Of . . . ” from my computer’s point of view. And, since I switched from full-time elementary teacher to full-time writer in 2011, here is my haiku:

    teaching first, but writing now
    more family time
    more “me” time @home sweet home

    Happy New Year to you, too! 🙂

What do you think?

