Frilly Scarf

Standard

Looky what I made! As you may know, I haven’t learned to knit or crochet yet (although my first wonky attempt at crochet DID turn into a super-cute pillow!). However, on Thanksgiving weekend my daughter-in-law Tiffany showed me how to make this frilly scarf out of the Sashay yarn I won from Ginny’s spring giveaway. The lace is already part of the yarn, so all I had to do was crochet through the openings at the top . . . easy even for me! I found out that the back of the yarn wrapper has directions for this same scarf, but it was way better to see someone model the steps in person. Thank you, Ginny and Tiffany! ♥

Scarf

63 responses »

  1. Gorgeous colours!

    *I have also recently discovered the fabulous result when you combine frilly yarn with a basic crochet chain stitch…many of my gal pals shall be receiving these lovely ruffle scarves (& matching bracelets) for Christmas…I love that my ultra-beginner-crochet-skills can create something so fancy & frou frou looking ;)

  2. Your scarf turned out awesome! I am so glad that you were able to get Tiffany to show you how easy it is to work up this yarn. It’s so much better than reading a pattern. I have not seen these scarves done up in crochet before. It looks just as beautiful!

    • Thank you again for the fabulous yarn, Ginny! I’m going to try my Starbella yarn next, and then I’ll try an easy-looking project one of my bloggy friends recommended for the Pomp-a-doodle yarn. I’ll be sure to post them when I finish! :) Hugs, Katherine

      • Can’t wait to see what you do next. And Julie is right; now that you know how to create that lovely scarf in a jiff, you will want to make lots of them. :)

  3. You did a great job! I was asked to make a bunch of those last year. They’re easy and fun. Glad you enjoyed your girl time. :)

          • Thank you! I love video tutorials, especially for things like this scarf. There are some other yarns that work well with that type of pattern. I made one with Red Heart Boutique Rigoletto Metallic Yarn. I think it’s in my Facebook Scarves album. It ended up a whole lot shorter though, so I made it a necklace/cowl-like scarf.

  4. Last year I made about 30 of those scarves, gave some as gifts, some I kept for myself, some people paid me to make for them and about 11 that I donated to a fund raiser at my church for a group that was going to Guatemala this past summer. It is great mindless work that can be done while watching TV. And they are warm around your neck when you need them to be warm, but not so warm that when you want it just as an accessory.

      • Unfortunately, no I don’t. Sometimes I get so busy with a project that I forget to take pictures and I guess this was one of those times. I just bought some yarn in red to make another one for myself to go with a new black coat. Have other projects to finish first but it does make great mindless work when watching TV! Happy knitting :)

  5. Great job!! I love the colors, and I’m sure you’ll find it fun to wear– it’s like a modern boa!

    There are lots of these ruffling yarns on the market, and they’re more versatile than I expected– I’ve used them to make ruffled trims around pillows, among other things. (I posted a tutorial for this project a while back, Katherine, in case you might like to try this with your own beautiful pillows!)

  6. Pingback: Beautiful Result From a Yarn Give-away | My Time Stitching

  7. Looks great!

    My mom made me a few of these, but she knitted them. It’s amazing how easy it is to get something to amazing looking!

    • That’s so true! I’ve bought several knitting/crocheting books (even ones for little kids!) and still haven’t learned. But lots of people have offered to show me, so I know I’ll figure it out someday! :)

What do you think?

