Upcycled Wire Tray

Standard

Nothing is more relaxing than breakfast on the porch on a late summer morning. Of course, this requires a serving tray, such as this wire beauty I got for $24.99 at the local home goods store free from the garage! Yes, we have a floor fan in which the motor burned up after years of service, and I haven’t been able to throw it away.  I knew the front came off, so that’s the first piece I salvaged. I can use it to serve a meal, display fun items, or as a seasonal centerpiece with the addition of a liner cushion I made from a remnant and quilt batting.  Now, what to do with the rest of the fan . . .  P.S. If you haven’t made these cinnamon roll-ups yet, you must try them! Click here for the recipe! ♥

57 responses »

  1. This is cracking me up because a few years ago my mom and I were driving down the street when we spotted a nice wooden end table among other things put out to the curb! I immediately stopped to pick up the end table and my mom also jumped out and picked up a fan cover! I asked what she was going to do with it and she said she didn’t know but she would figure out something! For the life of me I cannot remember what she did with it…I know it was something in her garden but I know it wasn’t a serving tray!!! Great idea!!! Love it!

  2. This is really a nice idea; and one can also show their creativity by repainting the cover and can tie up some ribbon around outer edges for creating center piece during festive season.

  3. That’s very cool! I had one waaaaay back in my university days which I used as a pin board, with tiny little pegs…..and now I have absolutely no idea what happened to it! I’m pretty sure we have one in the storeroom…….(plus those cinnamon thingies look yummy!)

    • What a great idea!!! Maybe you can use the one in your storeroom to make a new pin board and post it on your blog! I’d love to see it! :) (And you MUST try the cinnamon roll-ups!!!) :)

  4. You definitely amaze me with this one…who looks at an old fan and says “yah, breaky on the patio”. Katherine you rock. What a nice place to think about what your day will bring.

    • You are too sweet! I just hate to throw big things away. For example, my ironing board won’t stand up without a screwdriver inserted in the latch and has been that way for years . . . my family always laughs, but who wants to put an ironing board in a landfill somewhere??? So I’m trying to think about old things in a new way . . . plus, it’s fun! :) And thanks again for the lovely compliment! :)

  5. oh, WOW! That is such an awesome idea!! And if you’re thinking you could pick up a cool metal tray like that at the home good store for just $24.99, you’re crazy. I’m thinking $59.99 at Pottery Barn.

  6. What a great idea! Love this “fan” tray/bowl. I love wire in general (that’s why I make wire jewelry). Now to look around the house for old fans – maybe I’ll even paint it! – Zoraida

    • Yay! I can’t wait to see it! :) And I LOVE your jewelry! I made a small non-jewelry project using wire (upcoming post!) and I’m not very good at handling it, so I really admire someone who is! :)

  7. Pingback: AMAZING Yarn . . . Thank You, Ginny! | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  8. Pingback: Upcycled Porch Side Table | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?

