Finally . . . a Guy Gift!

Standard

 Zipper Pull

Have I ever mentioned that we have LOTS of guys in our family? As in a blended family of seven sons and no daughters??? I love to make things for our beautiful daughters-in-law and grandbabies, but I haven’t ventured far into homemade-for-men land. So, when I saw a tutorial for a zippered toiletry bag on The Purl Bee, I decided to give it a try. The first challenge was fabric. I wanted to use oilcloth to make the bag easy to clean, but all I could find was gingham, fruit, vegetables, animal prints, and floral designs. Then I stumbled on this fun plaid online at Mendel’s, and it just happens to be the colors for the University of Kansas, the birthday guy’s favorite college basketball team . . . how lucky was that? The bag was easy and fun to sew, and I have plenty of fabric left (and plenty of KU fans left!), so I’m sure I’ll be making more.   8-7-12 UPDATE: Today I added a little guy a-la-mode . . . a zipper pull made from a Jayhawk keychain. ♥

41 responses »

  1. Now that’s cute! Guys would hate to hear that word used to describe their things like toiletries bags, but since they’re not here, it’s fair game. You might have the beginnings of a small industry there is the university gets wind of it. Can’t beat a well done plaid item.

    • The tutorial calls it a “Dopp Bag” . . . that was new to me! I’ll probably call it a “travel bag” when I give it. :) And thanks for the compliment! I do love a bit of plaid myself! :)

  2. Guys are hard! This looks great, but where oh where is the a-la-mode guy style?
    I made a tissue box cover for my DH’s bathroom. He loved it and I did too because the store boxes “didn’t go” I did not use a pattern, just took a part a square tissue box, embroidered panels and cut to the right size then sewed together, leaving the bottom open to slide over the new box..

    • Actually I’m going to look for a Jayhawk zipper pull (or a charm or keychain to make a zipper pull) for the a-la-mode, both to jazz it up and because it needs one. I ALMOST put some letter buttons for KU on the side, but I decided he’d think that was cutesy. :) I’ll post an update when I find something! Oh, and I had to cut out a rectangle from each corner of the oilcloth to make the bag, and these will be the perfect size for luggage tags . . . I’ll be making some of those, too. :) And I love your idea you describe for the tissue box . . . you should write a post about it! :)

  3. Okay, I give up – what is Dopp short for? If you want them to be university-true, you could look online or in the college stores for pulls to use on the zippers. Or find a resin button similar and upfit a regular zipper with the button.

    • The top confused me a bit . . . but I kept reading the instructions and did what I THOUGHT it meant and when I turned it rightside out it looked great! So it was probably just me. :) Also, there are several other tutorials available online with a little searching. I might try another one and see which I like better. :) (P.S. I didn’t have to do the step about binding the inside seams since oilcloth doesn’t fray. Yay!)

What do you think?

