A Super-Easy, Inexpensive, Five-Minute Guest Room Craft

Standard

(1) Find a stand-up frame that matches your guest room.  (I got this one at a dollar store for . . . yes . . . $1!)

(2) Use the picture that comes with the frame as a template to cut a light-colored piece of scrapbook or wrapping paper.

(3) Put the pretty paper in the frame.

(4) Using a dry-erase marker, write a welcome message on the glass before your guests arrive.

(5) Watch them smile!

P.S. A big THANK YOU goes out to Bliss . . . a DIY and Home Design Site for this great idea!  If you’ve written a recent post about creating a hospitable guest space, I’d love for you to send me a link in a comment and I’ll add it to this post, too! ♥

43 responses »

  1. Thanks for the shout out! And I love this idea and will definitely be using it for our next guests!!

    • Thank you SO much for responding, Kristy, as you are exactly the person I was targeting in my request for related posts! :) I knew I’d seen and liked this in someone’s recent blog post, but I couldn’t find the bookmark anywhere. I’ve updated my post with a credit and link to your article and enjoyed reading it (and viewing your lovely photos!) once again. Best, Katherine

    • Ooohhh . . . that will be SO pretty! I have a bit of that, too . . . maybe I’ll use it for a write-on for my office since it’s already decorated in black and white. Thanks for the idea! :) P.S. I have a road trip this weekend so I’m hoping to embroider the music saying you gave me. I’ll keep you posted!

  2. Using the insert as a template is a great idea! I often keep my inserts to use as templates for other projects as well, especially when they are the nice cardboard kind. Lol I was just getting ready to post the template idea on my blog Because I came across them at my Boutique today!
    Great idea and super cute, thanks for sharing.

    • I just went to the first site you mentioned Bliss . . . a DIY and Home Design Site which is really neat. They have an idea for a guest “basket” with incidentals your guest might need. A couple things that would be really helpful – small bottle of tylenol, Gas-X, and for ladies … tampons in a discrete (hand-made, of course) little pouch. Kind of embarrassing to have to ask LOL.

  3. Pingback: Remodeling the Guest Bedroom: Welcome and Stay Awhile « Beyond The Green Door

  4. Pingback: What can you make with an embroidered jacket? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?

