More Vintage Treasures!

Standard

Thank you for all the WONDERFUL ideas I’ve received so far for my vintage bow ties! With a super-busy week ahead (in a good way! :)) sewing isn’t on the agenda, but as soon as I get back to my machine I’ll be trying them out!  In the meantime, I thought I’d share the other goodies Dad gave me this weekend. My mom won these ribbons for her paintings at county and state fair competitions . . . she was so amazing! I have a bunch of these stashed away from my 4-H days, too. I also have a class reunion coming up during fair weekend in August, and I offered to make the decorations, and wouldn’t the ribbons make a festive bunting??? My other newest treasures include  (1) a “VOTE!” necktie from a 1972 election, (2) some hand-embroidered and crocheted linens, (3) a hand-sewn and crocheted baby dress, cap, sweater, and booties, and (4) a colorful nylon kite that no longer flies. I’m going to have so much fun with these! And if you have suggestions for projects for any of them, please feel free to share here, too. I never cease to be amazed at all the creativity out there! ♥

14 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to see what you make with these items! I think the crocheted linens would be cute on a really feminine 1950’s type of kitchen apron. Maybe out of the kite you could make a garden flag of sorts. The baby stuff is cute as it is, but i’m sure you will come up with something even cuter! I’m not sure about the vote tie…maybe a little girls Independence Day dress?

    • Wow . . . will you move in next door to me? We could rock and roll and sewing and crafts! :) THANK YOU for all the GREAT ideas . . . I’ll be sure to mention you when I use them! :)

  2. Recently, we’ve been going through some of my husband’s grandparents’ things. We found a quilt his great-grandmother had made out of all of her first and second place ribbons from the fair. It was a really neat idea!

  3. I could see the colorful bowties on: a purse….. Your reversible belt………on a headband….tie up a small bouquet of fabric flowers. What fun you will have! congrats to your mom on her ribbons.

  4. For the rosettes you should check out Tara Badcock, a Tasmanian embroidery artist, she has done some fantastic rosettes which have a little historical flair to them – Although they look very tie consuming. Let me know if you cannot find the site and I will send you the link :-)

  5. Well for the Christing gown I have seen ppl turn then into hanging hampers with a sq base and a slit in the middle attached to a pretty hanger for shoes jewels ect. But for the awards if they are your own make a quilt with each framed out in its own rectangle lol but of course I would say that .

  6. Pingback: Whatever happened to that kite??? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?

