Lost Earring Necklace

Standard

Have you ever lost one earring from a favorite pair? That’s happened to me several times lately. I’ve been wanting to incorporate the saved mates into a different piece of jewelry, and I finally figured out how!

At a craft show last fall a lady had the ingenious idea of attaching the round part of a bracelet closure to a necklace latch that could clip onto any necklace chain or cord and then attaching charms to the bar part of the closure that slips into the circle. I bought the latch and one charm (with some miniature scissors, a flower, and two crystal beads), and I love it! So, to make my “lost earring necklace,” I removed the earring findings, bought another bracelet closure the same size, attached the pretty parts of the earrings to the bar with a little wire circle, and closed it up with my needle-nose pliers. Now I can exchange it out with my other charm whenever I like . . . YAY!

P.S. I’ve never made jewelry so I’m probably using all the wrong terms in this post, but hopefully the photos will help. ♥

73 responses »

  1. I love it. I have a box of one earrings knowing that as soon as I toss it, the other one will show up. I now have another project to add to my new blog.

  2. What a wonderful idea! No one likes throwing away an earring in case the mate shows up unexpectedly. Using this technique, they are preserved and used in a unique & beautiful way. :)

  3. I love it. I have all kinds of losties, holding on to them knowing some kind of inspiration would come. And, it finally arrived in my inbox. Thanks for the great idea!

    • What a sweet thing to do!!! The “Lovely” button is now on my sidebar with a big THANK YOU to you . . . plus, when people click it, it takes them to your blog! Thank you so much for thinking of me! :) Best, Katherine

  4. Reblogged this on everythingjules and commented:
    I thought this was such a great idea that I just had to post it on my blog. This came from a very creative lady, her blog is “PILLOWS A-LA-MODE”. Check it out if you get the chance and have the time! ~ Julie

  5. Glad you stopped by my blog!! I fully support your repurposing and upcycling efforts – thanks for posting all these great ideas. Now if I can gather all my “onesie” earrings…
    Belle

  6. Pingback: Button Necklace « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  7. Pingback: 3 Chunky Statement Necklace That Can Transform Even A Pillow Sack! | Chameleon Accessories Boutique

  8. Pingback: Thimble Necklace « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

What do you think?

