T-Shirt Quilt

Standard

This isn’t a *new* project, but I just found the photo and it sweetly reinforced why we all do what we do . . . create special things for special people to show how much we care. I remembered how happy my son Kyle was to get this quilt when he graduated from high school and how many homes it has lived in with him during his young adult years, and I thought about the warm feeling I get when I now see his little girls wrapped up in it watching a movie.  I didn’t have a pattern or directions when I made it, so I simply cut out squares from the fronts or backs of T-shirts (mostly team shirts, but a couple from other treasured events), stitched them together, stitched the front to the back with batting in between, and stitched around the squares for “quilting.” The lower right-hand corner also has the T-shirt the pink ladies at the hospital gave us the day Kyle was born. (All together now . . . AWWWWWW! :)) The next time I make one, I think I’ll put fabric strips around the squares to set them apart a bit, like the one I recently saw on LoveLaughLiveMe . . . or maybe I’ll just turn them into pillows instead. ♥

56 responses »

  1. It’s beautiful!

    I’m planning on making my daughter one for her high school graduation. She’s about to turn 12 (on the 10th) and I’ve been saving special tshirts for a while, ones from her school plays, dance recitals, things like that. I’m pretty excited about it.

    • Good for you! I LOVE it that you’re planning ahead. She will be SO touched to get her quilt and will treasure it always. I hope we’re all still blogging when it happens so I can see it. :)

  2. I LOVE this idea! I don’t currently have a sewing machine, but I want one so badly, especially after seeing awesome projects like this one! Beautiful job, and what a great way to relive happy memories of team events, etc. :D

    • Thank you! You can get a no-frills sewing machine for such a good price these days. Mine (which has been in the family for decades) only does straight and zig-zag stitch (plus has a buttonhole attachment) but it works fine for the simple things I make. I hope you get to follow your dream soon! :)

  3. What a novel idea. I have some keepsakes of my children though I’m certain I don’t have enough to make a quilt. What a shame. Nice work pillows and thanks so much for visiting my site. Have a super evening.

  4. My mother made me a quilt like this with t-shirts that I had when I was a kid all the way through college. And it’s one of my favorite things I own. So special.

  5. Thank you for visiting and commenting on my Blog.
    I love the T-shirt Quilt, I think they are a great Idea and eventually I will get round to making one. I also love the Pillow Gift Baskets you did:)

    • It’s really easy, MomQueenBee, and he will love it forever! I’m sure you can find some better tutorials on Pinterest. :) I think you should go for it! (P.S. You probably recognize some of these T-shirt logos!)

  6. I really love this! My husband and I love to travel and I’m thinking it might be great to start picking up T-shirts from different places that we have camped and visited. Would be great to have as a way to look back fondly on our adventures together.

      • I think I’m over my trepidation and I’m getting ready to tackle the t-shirt quilt! I started laying out the design on my floor (because my tables aren’t big enough), and of course the dogs tried to sleep on my rough draft. I’m wondering if you laid out the entire pattern before starting or if you designed sections and then put them all together.

        • I laid them out first (either on the floor or the bed . . . can’t remember!). I’m so excited that you’re making one! Can’t wait to see it on your blog!!! Good luck! :)

  7. Hi…Quick question for you (I was looking for an email to contact you directly but I couldn’t find one)…I have a planned post coming up next friday about a little project I did with one of Annabelle’s old t-shirts, and I wanted to link this post about your T-Shirt Quilt as another idea of what to do with old shirts…But I (of course) wanted to get your permission first…let me know if it’s ok!! Thanks. Kelly

    My email if you’d rather reply there is: cobwebscupcakesandcrayons@yahoo.com

  8. Pingback: The Shirt Off Her Little Back – Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons

  9. Pingback: T-Shirt Quilt Project — Let the Inspiration In Challenge Week 3 1/2 « Beyond The Green Door

  10. Pingback: Let’s Get Rolling: The T-Shirt Drawer – Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons

  11. Pingback: Framing A Keepsake T-Shirt

What do you think?

