From Old Jumper to New Dress

Standard

My latest refashion project involved a too-large and out-of-date Tencel denim jumper and a too-large-but-good-as-new  jersey tank with a funky print from my closet archives.

First, I cut the bodice off the jumper. Then I took LOTS of fullness from the skirt by taking in the four seams, starting with one inch at the top and diagonaling down to four inches at the bottom. I also shortened it several inches. Yes, this jumper could have doubled as a parachute!!!

Next, I cut apart the tank to make a bodice and sleeves (using a sleeve pattern from another dress I’ve made). After sewing the sleeve seams, I sewed the sleeves to the bodice and then sewed the bodice to the skirt, matching side seams and the center front and back and stretching the bodice to fit. Finally, I stitched the sash that came with the jumper to the bodice/skirt seam most of the way around, leaving an opening for tying at the front. (Click on any photo in the gallery for a larger view.) I can’t wait to wear my new dress with my lime-green cardigan and Aunt Vitha’s fun bead necklace. ♥

10 responses »

  1. Love this look! What a way to revamp an outdated dress for something much more chic. It’s also an awesome DIY!

    Thanks so much for stopping by our blog, we are glad to have discovered yours!

    • That’s so sweet . . . thank you! I’ve just started doing some refashions (thanks to lots of blogging inspiration!) and love getting something new for free! :) I’ll look forward to checking back on your blog, too! :)

    • Thank you! :) I’m using a 40-year old family Singer and it works like a charm. :) If you don’t have the manual for yours, you might be able to find a pdf of it online. Otherwise, I would invite a sewing friend over for lunch and I’m sure she could figure out how to thread it. Then, start with something super-simple, like a pillow. My first-ever project was an apron with a drawstring . . . I still have it! :) Good luck, and you will L-O-V-E sewing!!! :)

What do you think?

